Preschool Storytime – Colors – February 2, 2016

Hi everyone! I missed some of you in storytime last week.  The library had a delayed opening  because of the blizzard.  This week we will talk about all the colors of the rainbow.

Opening song – So Happy You’re Here – Hap Palmer

Activity – Color Sorting Magnet Game –  This color game will  helps children learn how to sort orange, blue, red, green and yellow objects.  The children will be given pictures of objects that they will have to sort according to their color.

Book –Bear Sees Colors- by Karma Wilson – A concept book about exploring colors with Bear.  Colors, colors everywhere! Can you find colors just like Bear?

Flannelboard: “I Have a Crayon”
I have a crayon, I’ll give it to you.
Here is my crayon, my crayon of blue.
I have a crayon, a lovely little fellow.
Here is my crayon, my crayon of yellow.
I have a crayon, it’s here on my head.
Here is my crayon, my crayon of red.
I have a crayon, we can draw a circle.
Here is my crayon, my crayon of purple.
I have a crayon, what do I see?
Here is my crayon, an orange one for me.
I have a crayon, the best ever seen.
Here is my crayon, my crayon of green
Credit: Anne’s Library Life

Book- Butterfly, Butterfly a Book of Colors– by Petr Horacek – Lucy sees a beautiful butterfly in the garden, along with a bright green beetle, a brilliant blue dragonfly, some red ladybugs, and many more flying and crawling things. But when will the radiant butterfly appear again?

Song/Activity-“The Color Song”- Tune:If You’re Happy and You Know It

If your clothes have any red, any red,
If your clothes have any red, any red,
If your clothes have any red, put your finger on your head,
If your clothes have any red, any red.
Additional Verses:
Blue- finger on your shoe
Yellow- smile like a happy fellow
Brown- turn your smile into a frown
Black- put your hands behind your back
White- stomp your feet with all your might
Book – Dog’s Colorful Day –by Emma Dodd – Dog starts off the day with one black spot on his ear. But it seems that wherever he goes, he runs, rolls, and trots right into colors. As he wanders around town, Dog collects spots made of red jam, blue paint, pink ice cream, and more. When he finally arrives back home, Dog has ten different colored spots. And then it’s bath time for this colorful canine, who makes learning colors and numbers easy, messy, and fun!

Scarf Rhyme: “Rainbow Dancers”
Rainbow dancers let’s get ready
Hold your scarves nice and steady.
You’ll hear the colors of the rainbow.
Listen for your time to go.

Shake red…
Shake orange…
Shake yellow…
Shake green…
Shake blue…
Shake purple…

Red scarves turn around,
Orange scarves up and down.
Yellow scarves reach up high,
Green scarves fly, fly, fly.
Blue scarves tickle your nose,
Purple scarves touch your toes.

Everybody dance around,
Swirl your scarves up and down.

Shake purple…
Shake blue…
Shake green…
Shake yellow…
Shake orange…
Shake red…

Rainbow dancers dance around,
Scarves swirl up and down.
Our colorful dance is at an end.
Thank you, thank you, all my friends.
Credit: K at Storytime Fun

 

Closing song – “Shout and Whisper” – by  Hap Palmer

-Miss Ellen

 

Leave a Reply

