Time for Two’s Storytime-1,2,3 Count With Me-9/24/2015

Hello everyone!Today your child will be learning about numbers. You can introduce the idea of numbers by counting in small sets. Also singing songs and rhymes that include counting.

~Opening song: Hello! from CD Early Childhood Classics by Hap Palmer

Hello, Hello, Hello and how are you?
I’m fine. I’m fine,
And I hope that you are too.

~Opening Fingerplay: Open, Shut Them. From CD Early Childhood Classics by Hap Palmer

Open shut them, open shut them
Give a little clap
Open shut them, open shut them
Put them in your lap
Apart together, apart together
Give a little clap
Apart together, apart together
Put them in your lap

I raise my hands oh so high
I bring them down and now they’re low
I raise my hands oh so high
I bring them down and now they’re low
My hands are high, my hands are low
My hands are high, my hands are low

My hand is a bird flying high
The bird flies down and now it’s low
The bird flies up and now it’s high
The bird flies down and now it’s low
My hands are high, my hands are low
My hands are high, my hands are low

Open shut them, open shut them
Give a little clap
Open shut them, open shut them
Put them in your lap
Back and forward, back and forward
Give a little clap
Back and forward, back and forward
Put them in your lap

(We will repeat them every week, toddlers love repetition because it helps them to learn and because it’s familiar and comforting).

~Books that we will be reading are:

    1 2 3 A Child’s First Counting Book by: Alison Jay

    Five Little Ducks by: Ivan Bates

   1, 2 Buckle My Shoe by: Anna Grossnickle Hines

~Other songs, rhymes and fingerplay are:

-Five Little Monkeys

Five little monkeys jumping on the bed
One fell off and bumped his head
Mama called the doctor,
And the doctor said
No more monkeys jumping on the bed

Four little monkeys jumping on the bed
One fell off and bumped his head
Mama called the doctor
And the doctor said,
No more monkeys jumping on the bed

Three little monkeys jumping on the bed
One fell off and bumped his head
Mama called the doctor
And the doctor said,
No more monkeys jumping on the bed

Two little monkeys jumping on the bed
One fell off and bumped his head
Mama called the doctor
And the doctor said,
No more monkeys jumping on the bed

One little monkey jumping on the bed
One fell off and bumped his head
Mama called the doctor
And the doctor said,
Put those monkeys right to bed

-Two Little Blue Birds

Two little bluebirds. . .sitting on a hill
One named Jack . .. one named Jill
Fly away Jack. . .fly away Jill
Come back Jack. . .come back Jill

-Choose An Instrument song from CD Rhythms on Parade

-Three Jellyfish

Three jellyfish,
Three jellyfish,
Three jellyfish sitting on a rock.

One jumped off!
Splash!

Two jellyfish…
One jellyfish…

No jellyfish,
No jellyfish,
No jellyfish sitting on a rock.

One climbed up!
Horray!

One jellyfish…
Two jellyfish…
Three jellyfish…

-Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star

Twinkle, twinkle little star
How I wonder what you are.
Up above the world so high,
Like a diamond in the sky.
Twinkle, twinkle little star,
How I wonder what you are.

-Goodbye from CD Songs For Wiggleworms

Songs For Wiggleworms

Thank you everyone! See you next week!

~Miss Gelysmari

Leave a Reply

