Time For Two’s Storytime- Animal Sounds 9/17/2015

Welcome everyone! This is our first Time for Two’s Storytime for the fall session! Today your toddler will be learning about Animal Sounds!

~ Our opening song will be “Hello“.

Hello

Hello, Hello, Hello

How are you?

I’m fine, I’m fine.

And hope that you are too.

~ We will be continuing with the fingerplay “Open, Shut Them”

Open, Shut Them by Hap Palmer

Open shut them, open shut them
Give a little clap
Open shut them, open shut them
Put them in your lap
Apart together, apart together
Give a little clap
Apart together, apart together
Put them in your lap

I raise my hands oh so high
I bring them down and now they’re low
I raise my hands oh so high
I bring them down and now they’re low
My hands are high, my hands are low
My hands are high, my hands are low

My hand is a bird flying high
The bird flies down and now it’s low
The bird flies up and now it’s high
The bird flies down and now it’s low
My hands are high, my hands are low
My hands are high, my hands are low

Open shut them, open shut them
Give a little clap
Open shut them, open shut them
Put them in your lap
Back and forward, back and forward
Give a little clap
Back and forward, back and forward
Put them in your lap

(We will repeat them every week, toddlers love repetition because it helps them to learn and because it’s familiar and comforting).

~Books that we will be reading are:

  I Went Waking by: Sue Williams

  Do Monkeys Tweet? by: Melanie Walsh

  Say Hello Like This! by: Mary Murphy

~Other songs, rhymes and fingerplays are:

-I Went Walking to the Town One Day(Rhyme)

I went walking to town one day
Oh, it was a beautiful day!
As I went walking to town one day
I met a cow along the way.
And what do you think that cow did say?
Moo!

Repeat with other animals.

-Where are the Baby Mice?(Fingerplay)                          


Where are the baby mice? (cup hands together)
Squeak, squeak, squeak (bring hands to ear)
I do not see them
Peek, peek, peek (look closely into hands)
Here they come out of the hole in the wall (open hands
One, two, three, four, five.(lift one finger at a time) That’s all!(hands open, palms up)

-When Ducks Get Up In The Morning (Rhyme with puppet)

When Ducks get up in the morning, they always say good day
When ducks get up in the morning, they always say good day
Quack, quack, quack, quack, that is what they say, they say
Quack, quack, quack, quack, that is what they say.

Repeat with other animals.

-Let’s Make Some Noise By: Raffi, CD Everything Grows. (We shake maracas together).

-Twinkle,Twinkle Little Star(Closing Song)

Twinkle, twinkle little star
How I wonder what you are.
Up above the world so high,
Like a diamond in the sky.
Twinkle, twinkle little star,
How I wonder what you are.

Thank you everyone! See you next week!

~Miss Gelysmari

Leave a Reply

