Preschool Storytime- Valentine’s Day

Welcome everyone! Happy Valentine’s Day! It’s that time of year again when we show people how much we care about them, by giving cards and candy!

Welcome Song – So Happy You’re Here Today – Hap Palmer

Book – Pete the Cat Valentine’s Day is Cool by Kimberly and James Dean – Pete the Cat thinks Valentine’s Day isn’t cool . . . until he realizes how many special cats there are in his life! Pete works hard to make valentines for everyone, and it turns out to be the grooviest Valentine’s Day ever. But what happens when he realizes he’s forgotten to make a card for a very important cat?

 

Action Rhyme – “I Have a Little Heart”
I have a little heart, (place hand over heart)
And it goes thump, thump, thump (pat chest three times)
It keeps right on beating,
When I jump, jump, jump (jump three times)
I get a special feeling, when I look at you. (point to group)
It makes me want to give you a hug or two. (hug yourself)

Credit: Library Goddess

Flannelboard – “Five Little Valentine’s”

Five little valentines were having a race
The first little valentine was frilly with lace.
The second little valentine had a funny face.
The third little valentine said, “I love you”.
The fourth little valentine said, “I do too”.
The fifth little valentine was sly as a fox.
He ran the fastest to the valentine box.

To each and every friend of mine
I’ll send a lovely valentine.
Mom, Dad, Sis, and Brother, too.
Will receive a heart that says,
“I love you.”

http://www.lyricsmode.com/lyrics/v/valentines_day/5_little_valentines.html

Book – If You’ll Be My Valentine – by Cynthia Rylant – A little boy gives out Valentines to his family and friends.

 

Activity – Who Has a Red Heart? Game
Sung to: Mary Wore a Red Dress
Who has a red heart, red heart, red heart?
Who has a red heart?
Bring it to me now.
Use different color hearts.
Song- Skinnamarink – have children play maracas along with the song.

Skinnamarink a dink a dink,
Skinnamarink a doo,
I love you.

Skinnamarink a dink a dink,
Skinnamarink a doo,
I love you.

I love you in the morning.
And in the afternoon.
I love you in the evening.
And underneath the moon.

Skinnamarink a dink a dink,
Skinnamarink a doo,
I love you!

 

Goodbye song – Shout and Whisper – by Hap Palmer

-Miss Ellen

Leave a Reply

