Preschool Storytime – Colors

Hi everyone! This week I decided to do storytime about colors.

Opening Song – So Happy You’re Here Today” – Hap Palmer

Hap Palmer | So Big - Activity Songs For Little Ones

Activity – Color Sorting Magnet Game –  This color game will  helps children learn how to sort orange, blue, red, green and yellow objects.  The children will be given pictures of objects that they will have to sort according to their color.

Book – Elmer and the Rainbow – by David McKee- Elmer is sad when he discovers that the rainbow has lost its colors. He wants to help, but what will happen if he gives the rainbow his own colors? Will he lose them forever?

Song: If You’re Wearing Red Today

(To the tune of “Mary Had a Little Lamb”)
If you’re wearing red today, red today, red today
If you’re wearing red today, please stand up!

Repeat with different colors and motions.

Credit : http://www.abbythelibrarian.com/2011/05/colorful-storytime.html

Book – A Color of His Own – by Leo Lionni – Elephants are gray. Pigs are pink. Tigers have black and orange stripes. It seems that every animal has its own distinctive color, except the chameleon. And that makes the little chameleon hero of this picture book very sad. Every time he moves, he changes color! So, wanting nothing more than a color to call his own, he decides to stay in one place forever: on the greenest leaf he can find. At last the chameleon is happy…until autumn comes, and the leaf changes from green to yellow to red. Finally, another chameleon arrives, and suggests they travel together. The two set off for a new life of multicolored adventure as friends.

Flannelboard- “I Have a Crayon”
I have a crayon, I’ll give it to you.
Here is my crayon, my crayon of blue.
I have a crayon, a lovely little fellow.
Here is my crayon, my crayon of yellow.
I have a crayon, it’s here on my head.
Here is my crayon, my crayon of red.
I have a crayon, we can draw a circle.
Here is my crayon, my crayon of purple.
I have a crayon, what do I see?
Here is my crayon, an orange one for me.
I have a crayon, the best ever seen.
Here is my crayon, my crayon of green
Credit: Anne’s Library Life

Book – It’s an Orange Aardvark! – by Michael Hall – Five carpenter ants at home in their tree stump hear a noise. What is it? One ant thinks it is a hungry aardvark lurking outside the stump, just waiting to eat them. One ant makes a hole in the stump to see. Orange light floods the stump—it’s not an aardvark, proclaims the ant chorus. It’s orange! So what is lurking outside the stump? This very funny picture book features die-cut holes on almost every page, suspenseful page turns, a wonderful surprise ending, and an introduction to a rainbow of colors.

Book – Nighty Night, Little Green Monster by Ed Emberley -With the turn of every die-cut page, see Little Green Monster’s face gradually appear.  Then, as the stars come out, get ready to say good night!

Song – “If Your Clothes Have Any Red”

(Tune: “If You’re Happy and You Know It”)


If you are wearing red, shake your head,
If you are wearing red, shake your head,
If you are wearing red, if you are wearing read, if you are wearing red,
Then please shake your head.
Repeat using other colors:

Blue, touch your shoe
Black, pat your back
Green, bow like a queen
Yellow, shake like Jell-O
Brown, turn around
Pink, give us a wink.

Credit: http://www.suffolk.lib.va.us/ldnd_template/youth-services/program-ideas-and-resources/preschool-program-plans-that-promote-early-literacy-skills/storytime-about-colors.html

Closing Song – Shout and Whisper – Hap Palmer

-Miss Ellen

Leave a Reply

