Preschool Storytime – Food

Hi everyone! This week we will be talking about our favorite foods, like cake, ice-cream, pizza etc.

Opening song – “So Happy You’re Here Today” by Hap Palmer

Book – Bunny Cakes by Rosemary Wells -Max makes an earthworm cake for Grandma’s birthday and helps Ruby with her angel surprise cake. At the store, the grocer can’t read all of the shopping list, until Max solves the problem by drawing a picture.

Flannelboard: “Ice Cream Colors”
We have ice cream, the best in town,
Let us begin with chocolate brown.
Now, let us scoop us some bubble-gum pink,
It is sweet and yummy, the best, some think.
Here is ice cream minty and green,
It is the creamiest I have ever seen.
Yellow ice cream is lemony and tart,
We like its taste from the very start.
Scoops of blueberry would make my day,
Look at all this ice cream, hip, hip hurray!
Red ice cream is a strawberry delight,
All these scoops are a heavenly sight.
Vanilla white is a popular flavor,
It tastes very good to an ice-cream craver.
Purple ice cream really gives me a kick,
Good and yummy till the very last lick.
Ice cream, ice cream, what a cool sensation,
We love ice cream in any combination!
Credit: Step By Step

Call and Response Song: I Am Hungry(Tune: Are You Sleeping?)

I am hungry! (I am hungry)
What should I eat? (What should I eat?)
Think I’ll have some pizza
(think I’ll have some pizza)
Without any meat! (Without any meat).

I am hungry! (I am hungry)
What should I eat? (What should I eat?)
Think I’ll have tomato soup
(think I’ll have tomato soup)
With lots of heat! (With lots of heat).

I am hungry! (I am hungry)
What should I eat? (What should I eat?)
Think I’ll have some ice cream
(think I’ll have some ice cream)
Cold and sweet! (Cold and sweet).

Credit – http://jbrary.com/family-storytime-making-food/

Book – Little Pea by Amy Krouse Rosenthal – Little Pea hates eating candy for dinner, but his parents will not let him have his spinach dessert until he cleans his plate.

Song/Book  – “Today is Monday” by Eric Carle

https://singbookswithemily.files.wordpress.com/2010/04/today-is-monday.jpg?w=233&h=321

Book – Hi, Pizza Man! by Virginia Walter -While a young girl waits for the delivery of a hot pizza, she provides the appropriate animal sounds for a variety of pretend animal pizza deliverers.

Song – “Fruit Salad Salsa” by Laurie Berkner (with maracas)

Here come the mangoes with one hand out
And here come the apples with one hand out
And here come papayas with one hand out
All for the fruit salad salsa

Here come the pineapples
(shake shake shake)
Here come the oranges
(shake shake shake)
Here comes bananas go
(shake shake shake)
All for the fruit salad salsa

And then they jump de jump de jump
Jump de jump jump into the bowl
And then they jump de jump de jump
Jump de jump jump into the bowl
And then they jump de jump de jump
Jump de jump jump into the bowl
All for the fruit salad salsa

Then all the fruits they go spinning around
Spinning and tumbling and mixing around
Then all the fruits they go spinning around
All for the fruit salad salsa

And everybody goes in and shake shake shake
And everybody goes out and shake shake shake
And everybody goes in and shake shake shake
All for the fruit salad salsa

I hear the mangoes say let’s eat
I hear the apples say it’s time to eat
I hear papayas say let’s eat

All for the fruit salad salsa!

Closing Song – “Shout and Whisper” by Hap Palmer

-Miss Ellen

Leave a Reply

