Preschool Storytime – Hats Galore

Welcome back !  This week we will be listening to stories and songs about hats.  The children bring their favorite hat to wear to storytime.

Welcome song – “So Happy You’re Here” by Hap Palmer

Book- Caps for Sale by Esphyr Slobodkina – A classic picture book about a peddler and a bunch of mischievous monkeys.  It is a great book because it is humorous, it has repitition, patterns and colors.

Caps for Sale

Song/Activity – My Hat it Has Three Corners 

My Hat, It Has Three Corners
Action Song
My hat, it has three corners,
Three corners has my hat,
And had it not three corners,
It would not be my hat.

Game Instructions

This song is usually repeated five times, with specific gestures accompanying each repetition. Each gesture is associated with a word in the song.

For the word ‘my’, point to your body.
For the word ‘hat’, point to your head.
For the word ‘three’, hold up three fingers in your hand.
For the word ‘corner’, press your fist to your shoulder and use your other hand to point to your elbow.

For the first repetition, sing all the words and make all the gestures.
For the second repetition, remain silent during the word ‘my’ and make the appropriate gesture.
For the third repetition, remain silent during the words ‘my’ and ‘hat’ and make the appropriate gestures.
For the fourth repetition, remain silent during the words ‘my’, ‘hat’, and ‘three’ and make the appropriate gestures.
For the fifth repetition, remain silent during the words ‘my’, ‘hat’, ‘three’ and ‘corners’ and make the appropriate gestures.

Book – This Is Not My Hat by Jon Klassen. When a tiny fish shoots into view wearing a round blue topper (which happens to fit him perfectly), trouble could be following close behind. So it’s a good thing that enormous fish won’t wake up. And even if he does, it’s not like he’ll ever know what happened. . . . a very funny story that the children will enjoy looking at the illustrations and listening to the story.

This Is Not My Hat

Flannelboard/Activity- “What’s a Hat For?”

A sailor’s hat for rowing a boat,  (Make rowing motions)

A firefighter’s hat to put out a blaze, ( Hold fists together, squirting a hose motion)

A baseball cap to throw a ball, (Make a fist and pretend to throw)

A safari hat for a jungle maze, (Peek through fingers held in front of eyes)

A cowpoke hat to ride a horse, (Pretend to hold reins, bounce elbows up and down)

A clown hat to make people smile (Point to face and smile)

And a magic hat to say “Presto Poof!” (Make fists on Poof ! open fingers wide)

Now let’s put our  hats away for a while.  (Hold left arm out as if holding a bag, pretend to place hats in bag,  one at a time, saying each hat’s name aloud , i.e. sailor hat, firefighter’s hat, etc.)

Credit- Kidstuff – A treasury of early childhood enrichment materials.

Book – Ella the Elegant Elephant by Carmela D’Amico- It’s a story about Ella the elephant who is nervous about the first day of school in her new town , but wearing her grandmother’s good luck hat makes her feel better, until the other students tease her and call her names.

Ella the Elegant Elephant

Song – Open Shut Them – by Hap Palmer

Lyric:
Open shut them, open shut them
Give a little clap
Open shut them, open shut them
Put them in your lap
Apart together, apart together
Give a little clap
Apart together, apart together
Put them in your lap

I raise my hands oh so high
I bring them down and now they’re low
I raise my hands oh so high
I bring them down and now they’re low
My hands are high, my hands are low
My hands are high, my hands are low

My hand is a bird flying high
The bird flies down and now it’s low
The bird flies up and now it’s high
The bird flies down and now it’s low
My hands are high, my hands are low
My hands are high, my hands are low

Open shut them, open shut them
Give a little clap
Open shut them, open shut them
Put them in your lap
Back and forward, back and forward
Give a little clap
Back and forward, back and forward
Put them in your lap

Book – Where’s Mary’s Hat? by Stephanie Barroux – It’s a story about a cow named Mary who cannot find her favorite hat, and she asks one animal after another , but no one has seen it.

Where's Mary's Hat?

Book – Twelve Hats for Lena- A Book of Months by Karen Katz – It’s a story about a little girl named Lena who creates hats appropriate for each month of the year.

Song – Mexican Hat Dance – The children really enjoy doing this activity.  We put a mexican hat in the middle of our dance circle and we dance around the hat.

Product Image
Closing Song – Shout and Whisper by Hap Palmer
shout and whisper hap palmerMiss Ellen

Leave a Reply

