Family Storytime – Things that Go – Wednesday, February 19, 2014

A few “housekeeping” notes before I share this week’s program with you.  Today is the last storytime for the Winter Session.  Miss Lisa is taking a small break to plan the next storytime session.  We will start again on Wednesday, March 5th at 6:30 pm. and run for another six weeks.  Keep visiting the library while we are on break!  Check out some books to do your own storytime program at home (in fact, check back here next week for a special blog post to give you some ideas), or spend some time playing in our Family-Friendly Play Space.

This week we are talking about Things that Go.  Cars!  Trucks!  Planes!  Boats!

Our books:

  A Truck Goes Rattley-Bumpa (Joanathan London) – Kids can’t get enough books about trucks, and this one doesn’t disappoint with its vibrant illustrations.  If your child enjoys this one, look for other titles by the same author featuring other modes of transportation.

  Digger, Dozer, Dumper (Hope Vestergaard) – This is a new title for me to use in storytime, so I hope we all enjoy it!  This book includes 16 illustrated poems about all things DIGGER!

  Steam Train, Dream Train (Sherri Diskey Rinker) – If you have a train-fanatic, this may be a must-read bedtime story!  Soft illustrations and gentle rhymes make this a calming read-aloud.

Song – Going for a Ride (10 Little Indians)

Going for a ride in my little blue train,
Going for a ride in my little blue train,
Going for a ride in my little blue train,
Chugga, Chugga, Chugga, Chugga,
CHOO!  CHOO!

Other verses – Little Red Racecar – Vroom, vroom, vroom, vroom, vroom                           Shiny Rocket – 5, 4, 3, 2, 1 – BLAST OFF!

Action Rhyme – I Am A Choo Choo Train

I am a choo choo train
Chugging down the track.
Now I’m going forward,
Now I’m going back.
Now the bell is ringing.
Hear the whistle blow.
What a lot of noise I make,
Everywhere I go!

As always, I have a variety of activities, snacks, and crafts pinned for you on Pinterest.  Our break from storytime is a great time to try something new at home.  If you try something, share it with me!  I’d love to see what you’ve done.

See you all on March 5th!

~Miss Lisa

Leave a Reply

