Happy Valentine’s Day! – Preschool storytime

This week we will listen to stories about Valentine’s Day.

Opening song- “So Happy You’re Here Today”  by Hap Palmer

Book – “Snowy Valentine” by David Petersen.  It’s a simple book about a bunny named Jasper who visits all his friends on a snowy Valentine’s Day hoping to find a gift for his wife Lilly.

Flannelboard/Fingerplay- “Five little Valentine’s”

Five little valentines were having a race
The first little valentine was frilly with lace.
The second little valentine had a funny face.
The third little valentine said, “I love you”.
The fourth little valentine said, “I do too”.
The fifth little valentine was sly as a fox.
He ran the fastest to the valentine box.

To each and every friend of mine
I’ll send a lovely valentine.
Mom, Dad, Sis, and Brother, too.
Will receive a heart that says,
“I love you.”

Book – “Love Splat” – Rob Scotton.  It’s a cute story about a cat named Splat, who has a special valentine for his friend named Kitty who is in his class.

Action/Movement- “I Have a Little Heart”

Action Rhyme: “Little Heart”
I have a little heart, (place hand over heart)
And it goes thump, thump, thump (pat chest three times)
It keeps right on beating,
When I jump, jump, jump (jump three times)
I get a special feeling, when I look at you. (point to child)
It makes me want to give you a hug or two. (hug yourself)
Credit: The Best Kids Book Site

Book – “Valentine Surprise” by Corinne Demas.  It’s a sweet story that talks about the days of the week and the tradition of creating homemade valentines

  Valentine Surprise -- cover

Song – “Skinnamarink” The children will march around the room with instruments of their choice that we provide for them.  They love playing the instruments.

Skinnamarinky dinky dink
Skinnamarinky do,
I love you!

Skinnamarinky dinky dink
Skinnamarinky do,
I love you!

I love you in the morning,
And in the afternoon
I love you in the evening,
Underneath the moon…

Skinnamarinky dinky dink
Skinnamarinky do,
I love you!

Book – “How Do Dinosaurs Say I Love You” by Jane Yolen.  It’s a humorous book about naughty dinosaurs making messes or misbehaving in one way or another, but no matter what they do their moms or dads love them.

Closing song – “Shout and Whisper” by Hap Palmer

shout and whisper hap palmer

-Miss Ellen

Leave a Reply

