Family Storytime – Valentine’s Day! – Wednesday, February 12, 2014

Happy Valentine’s Day!

Our books:

  If You’ll Be My Valentine (Cynthia Rylant) – This sweet rhyming story follows a little boy as he makes and gives Valentines to everyone important in his life.

  The Perfect Hug (Joanna Walsh) – There is a perfect hug for everyone.  The illustrations will make you want to run out and hug someone!

  Love and Kisses (Sarah Wilson) – Kisses come full circle in this cute story.

I Have A Little Heart (Action Rhyme)

I have a little heart (place hand on heart)
and it goes thump, thump, thump (pat chest 3 times)
It keeps right on beating
When I jump, jump, jump! (Jump up and down)
I get a special feelings when I look at you (point to friend)
It makes me want to give you a hug or two (Hug someone or yourself)

Before we make a simple Valentine craft, we’ll be dancing to Laurie Berkner’s “There’s A Little Wheel A Turnin’ In My Heart.”    Not only is this song about hearts, but it also is a lot of fun to do all the actions.

We will be making a simple valentine to take home, but be sure to check out the other Valentine’s Day activities I have pinned on Pinterest.  There is a cute heart-shaped bird feeder on there that would be a great winter craft.

Leave a Reply

