Outer Space

This week we will read stories about Outer Space.

Opening song – “So Happy You’re Here Today”  By Hap Palmer

Book – “If I Were an Astronaut” by Eric Braun.  It’s a very simple book about how much fun it is to be an astronaut and go to outer space.

if I wew an an astronaut

Book/Flannelboard- “There was a Bold Lady Who Wanted a Star”  It’s a variation of the traditional cumulative rhyme, a feisty woman tries roller skates, a bicycle, and even a rocket to reach a star.  I have the children put up pictures of the things in the rhyme.

There Was a Bold Lady Who Wanted a Star

Book – “Papa, please get the moon for me”  by Eric Carle.  It’s about a little girl who asks her father to get the moon down from the sky for her after it is small enough to carry, but the moon continues to grow in size.  The children enjoy this book because some of the pages fold out.

Papa, Please Get the Moon for Me

We are going to get our wiggles out now with the following activity.  We are going to pretend we are going on a rocket ship. Which will lead us into our next book.

Zoom, zoom, zoom
We’re going to the moon.
Zoom, zoom, zoom
We’ll be there very soon

So, if you’d like to take a trip
Just step inside my rocket ship.

Zoom, zoom, zoom
We’re going to the moon.

Zoom, zoom, zoom
We’ll be there very soon

10 – 9 – 8 -7 – 6 – 5 – 4 – 3 – 2 – 1 – 0 – Lift OFF !!!

Book – “Roaring Rockets” by Tony Mitton.

Tony Mitton; Ant Parker Roaring Rockets

It’s a simple book explaining how rockets work, where they go and what they do.

Song/Activity – “Rocketship Run” – By the Laurie Berkner Band

Rocketship Run

Albums: The Best of the Laurie Berkner Band, Rocketship Run

5 – 4 – 3 – 2 – 1 Blast off! Another rocketship run
5 – 4 – 3 – 2 – 1 Blast off! Another rocketship run

Take me to the sun
Take me to the sun
When I get there I’ll go spinning through the air
Spinning round the sun

5 – 4 – 3 – 2 – 1 Blast off! Another rocketship run
5 – 4 – 3 – 2 – 1 Blast off! Another rocketship run

Take me to the moon
Take me to the moon
When I get there I’ll go dancing through the air
Dancing on the moon

5 – 4 – 3 – 2 – 1 Blast off! Another rocketship run
5 – 4 – 3 – 2 – 1 Blast off! Another rocketship run

Take me to the stars
Take me to the stars
When I get there I’ll go jumping through the air
Jumping from star to star

5 – 4 – 3 – 2 – 1 Blast off! Another rocketship run
5 – 4 – 3 – 2 – 1 Blast off! Another rocketship run

Take me to the earth
Leave me on the ground
When I get there I’ll be home

10 – 9 – 8 – 7- 6 – 5 – 4 – 3 – 2 – 1
Blast off! Another rocketship run!

Laurie Berkner Band - Rocketship Run CD

Song – “Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star”

Activity/Book – “When You Wish Upon a Star” By Ned Washington.  The book comes with a CD which I play.  I pass out different colored scarves to the children and we dance around with the scarves while we listen to the song.

12469965

Closing song- “Shout and Whisper” By Hap Palmer

shout and whisper hap palmer

-Miss Ellen

Leave a Reply

