Time for Twos Storytime – Counting – Friday, January 24, 2014

This week we are talking about numbers and counting.

Our books:

  Night Light (Nicholas Blechman) – I am excited to try this book in storytime!  It’s a counting book, but it’s got a bit of a twist.  Readers see different numbers of lights on each page, and get to guess what is making the light.  Each page is a different type of transportation.  Kids will love guessing what makes the light!

Hootenanny!: A Festive Counting Book (Kimberly Ainsworth) – This is another new-to-storytime book, and we’ll give it a try.  This counting book follows a group of colorful owls as they prepare for a “hootenanny” (a good old time!).  The story is told in rhyme, and the illustrations are very eye catching.

Our action rhyme is:

Ten Little Fingers

I have 10 little fingers
They all belong to me.
I can make them do things,
would you like to see?

I can shut them up tight.
I can open them wide.
I can put them together.
I can make them all hide.
I can make them jump high.
I can make them jump low.
I can fold them up quietly,
And hold them just so.

We will be doing some simple math activities as well.  You can easily do these types of activities at home.  I have many pinned on Pintrest, or you can create your own with Microsoft Word clipart.

To get you started, here are the adorable ladybug counting cards we are using in storytime.  The Measured Mom has great resources on her blog!

Leave a Reply

