Family Storytime – Fall – Wednesday, October 23, 2013

Fall is my favorite season!  I just love the cool, crisp days, breaking out sweaters, the crunching of the leaves, and the brilliant oranges, reds and yellows of the season.

Of course, we need to do a fall-themed storytime!

Our books:

   

One of my all-time favorite rhymes:

The Apple Tree

Way up high in the apple tree,
two shiny apples smiled down at me.
I shook that tree as hard as I could,
And down came the apples – MMMMMMM good!

Five Little Squirrels

Five little squirrels sitting in the tree,
The first one said, “What do I see?”
The second one said “There are acorns on the ground.”
The third one said “Those acorns I found.”
The fourth one said “I’ll race you there.”
The fifth one said “Allright!  That’s fair!”
So they shook their tails and they ran with glee,
And they ate those acorns 1-2-3!

This is a good time to highlight our “holiday” book collections.  Many of our general “fall” books live on the shelves all year long, shelved by their subject matter (stories, leaves, seasons, apples, etc).  But books on Halloween or Thanksgiving are kept in storage for most of the year.  We bring out holiday books about 6 weeks before the holiday is celebrated, giving you two full check-out periods to enjoy the books.  Ask a library staff member where you can find the holiday books.

Leave a Reply

